Herman Hertzberger

Born 6 July 1932 (age 85) Amsterdam, Netherlands

Alma mater Delft University of Technology



  • Montessori school, Delft (1966–70)
  • Centraal Beheer office building, Apeldoorn (1970–72)
  • Projects Diagoonwoningen, Delft (1971)

Herman Hertzberger (born 6 July 1932) is one of the most famous Dutch architects and professor emeritus.


Centraal Beheer office building, participation inside, Apeldoorn 1972
Herman Hertzberger was born on 6 July 1932 in Amsterdam.[1]

He completed his studies at the Delft University of Technology in 1958, where he was a professor from 1970 to 1999.[1]

Hertzberger can be considered, along with Aldo van Eyck, as the influence behind the Dutch structuralist movement of the 1960s and 1970s. Among Hertzberger’s best known buildings are the “Diagoon” houses (1971), the Montessori school in Delft (1966–70) and the administration building for the Centraal Beheer Insurance Company building in Apeldoorn (1970–72). He believed that the architect’s role was not to provide a complete solution, but to provide a spatial framework to be filled in by the users. This idea is coming from the Participation movement, initiated in 1961 by John Habraken with his book “Supports”. Herman Hertzberger was one of the first architects, who produced architectural solutions with user participation. Centraal Beheer and the “Diagoon” houses are belonging to the most inspiring examples of the international Participation movement.

Hertzberger has written several books including Lessons for Students in Architecture published in 1991 (ISBN 978-9064504648), Space and the Architect: Lessons in Architecture 2, 1999 (ISBN 978-9064503801) and Space and Learning in 2008 (ISBN 978-9064506444).

Herman Hertzberger, Arnulf Lüchinger, Rijk Rietveld, Herman Hertzberger 1959–86, Buildings and Projects, (English+German+French), The Hague 1987. First part of the architectural work.

Richard Neutra Award for Professional Excellence 1989, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
RIBA Royal Gold Medal 2012[2]
Thomas Jefferson Medal in Architecture 2015, University of Virginia[3]
He is an Accademico d’Onore, or honorary member, of the Accademia delle Arti del Disegno of Florence.[4]